Tuesday, July 21, 2009

MVP and Cy Young Award Winners - Results From Readers Poll

The fans have spoken!!! Twenty-eight readers have voted and after careful tabulation, we have winners and will name the mid-season, Collective Troll MVP and Cy Young Award Winners for the American and National Leagues. First, the Cy Young award, in the National League the winner is San Francisco Giants Ace Tim Lincecum. The “Freak” is currently 10-2 with a 2.27 ERA. He has 159 strikeouts while yielding just 35 walks. The Giants hurler received 21 votes. Second place goes to Arizona’s ace Dan Haren. Although he has suffered more losses (10-5), Haren’s line is even more impressive with a lower ERA of 1.96, while striking out 137 and walking 18. Chad Billingsley, Zack Duke and Johan Santana each received one vote.
The American League had a slightly closer race, but the winner is the Toronto Blue Jays Roy Halladay, who collected 13 votes. He is 11-3 with a 2.73 ERA. He has struck out 113 batters, while walking only 17. Coming in second is Kansas City starter (7 votes) Zach Greinke who is 10-5 with a lower ERA of 2.08. He also has more strikeouts (136) and walks (24) than Halladay. Detroit’s Justin Verlander (4 votes) placed 3rd. He is 10-5 with a 3.34 ERA and a whopping 155 strikeouts against 39 walks. His teammate Edwin Jackson received one vote, as did Tim Wakefield, Josh Beckett and Scott Kazmir. There were no relief pitchers who received any votes.
The MVP battle was pretty clear cut, too. Not too much of a race in the National League. St. Louis Cardinals first baseman and two-time MVP Albert Pujols received 26 votes. He is batting .333 with 34 home runs and 90 RBIs, leading the league in the latter two categories. Also receiving votes (1 each) were Milwaukee slugger Prince Fielder and Marlins shortstop Hanley Ramirez.
In the American League the race was a tiny bit closer, but hardly a race. Minnesota Twins catcher and two-time batting champ, Joe Mauer was the winner. Mauer is hitting an astounding .358 while hitting 15 homeruns and driving in 49. All that offense and the guy is a Gold Glove catcher, too. Tampa Bay’s left fielder Carl Crawford and Angels center fielder Torii Hunter tied for second place with 4 votes each. Mauer’s teammate Justin Morneau received two votes. Carlos Pena, Ichiro, Kevin Youkiliss and Curtis Granderson each received a vote.
Thank you to everyone who voted and congratulations to the winners! Let’s see if this proves to be a microcosm of the BBWA. The contest winners will be posted tomorrow.